Jefferson County, Alabama




Picture of District 1 Commissioner Lashunda Scales

District 1
Lashunda Scales
(205) 214-5507
Send Email
District Map

Picture of District 2 Commissioner Sheila Tyson

District 2
Sheila Tyson
(205) 325-5074
Send Email
District Map

Picture of Commission President Jimmie Stephens - District 3

District 3
James A. "Jimmie" Stephens
(205) 325-5555
Send Email
District Map

Picture of District 4 Commissioner Joe Knight

District 4
T. Joe Knight
President - Pro Tempore
(205) 325-5070
Send Email
District Map

District 5
Mike Bolin
(205) 325-5503
Send Email
District Map

About Us

Commission Responsibilities
The Commission is the governing body of Jefferson County. The five Commissioners are elected from five districts within the County for four-year terms.

The Commission:

  • Administer the County's finances
  • Serve as custodians of all of the County's property
  • Collect taxes as set by state law
  • Allocate resources for the construction of buildings, roads and other public facilities
  • Provide for the delivery of services that by law are the County's responsibility (such as sewer service and law enforcement)
  • Make appointments to various governmental boards and agencies